500 Word Brief///Publication Made By Myself For Effect, not to be fashionable.

January 14, 2009

dsc_0129

WHAT HAVE I BECOME?
dsc_0133

I have become an observer to the art and design movement, the ever changing and flowing stream of the art and design consciousness. I am neither original nor am I unoriginal, I focus on what i consider to be fashionable and trendy and follow the movements closely, until it burns itself out, then i move onto the next. I understand that all of what a designer must be is what has come before, that what we produce for the future must follow the rules of yesterday to be accomplished.

When working, my preferred way to create is a hands on approach, using analogue techniques and mixing that with technology to produce realistic outcomes with either precise outcomes or experimental finishes. Im always inspired by music, it fuels my motivation to create and design, without it  I would simply be emotionally ill-informed. After looking at the work of John Baldessari, a contemporary artist, i came across his book Titled ‘Music’. He works around the idea of specific sounds; be it the smallest of background sounds, he then paints large block colour, often circular, in found images or his own photographs of musicians. This is done to  replace colour with facial expressions or backgrounds to emphasise the unheard harmony of constant background sound behind the music or important visually emotional information to the viewer.

It is here that I observe Geometry and its fundamentals of shape that, in my minds infancy as a child, still effects my consciousness into my adulthood as a designer and artist. The Likes of Minimalists such as Donald Judd and James Turrell, both use geometric shape to represent spirituality, its effects on space and the human psyche have both influenced the ideas of geometry in my recent work. James Turrell’s projections in his 1966 instillation titled ‘Spirit and Light’  created illusions of shape in space, using the existing architecture of a four walled room to display colorful projections of 3D shapes.
I often try to engage people into my work using a pallet of playful and vibrant colour capturing a nostalgic theme, representing the childish qualities in myself and bring that out in others. I’ve also recently taken on illustration as a principle medium to be used in my work, it is a stream of my consciousness i enjoy to visualize with pen on paper. I find contemporary illustration a greater influence on my work than that of design or photography. It is the endless possibilities, styles, mediums, characters and designs that can be created, it is the fundamental process to design and is the first process we learn from our childhood.
dsc_0134

Looking over my pathway of research i have evaluated that i am a very contemporary designer but looks to the past of art and design movements as a form of acceptance of how i work today, i have finally considered myself to be mixture between an artist and designer and enjoy the cross-over without it being a hinderance to how i proceed in my work, past and present.

Leave a Reply

